5.7 C
Saturday, December 3, 2022

Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? , Russia-Ukraine War News

The symbolic move to declare Moscow a terrorist regime was rejected by many on the right and some on the left.

The European Parliament passed a resolution on Wednesday Declaration of Russia A state “sponsor of terrorism” on its war in Ukraine.

The European Parliament said, “Deliberate attacks and atrocities committed by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law constitute acts of terror and war crimes.”

In total, 494 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) voted in favor of the resolution, 58 were against and 44 abstained.

Interactive-EP Vote on Russia State Sponsored Terrorism

largely symbolic The move is unlikely to have an effect, as the EU – unlike the United States – does not have a legal framework for designating countries. Across the Atlantic, North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran are on the US list.

The European Union established its terrorist list in 2001 following the September 11 attacks in New York.

It includes individuals, groups and organizations and is reviewed at least every six months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed groups are currently included in the list.

Which members voted against the resolution?

Russia is the first country to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

However, members were unanimous in their voting, with a large part of the right-wing bloc of parliament against Russia’s cooperation with terrorism.

Twenty-six members of the far-right political group Identity and Democracy voted against designating Russia as a sponsor of terrorism.

Interactive - European Parliament votes on declaring Russia a terrorist country

Here’s a breakdown of votes by country, home country party and member:

These French politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the National Rally or Resemble National, which is led by Marine Le Pen.

  • mathilde androet
  • Jordan Bardella
  • aurelia begnex
  • Dominic Pictures
  • Annika Bruna
  • Patricia Chagnon
  • Marie Douchey
  • Jean-Paul Garrad
  • Catherine Grisset
  • Jean-Francois Jalakh
  • France Gemet
  • Virginia Joron
  • Jean Lynn Lacapelle
  • Gilles Lebreton
  • Thierry Mariani
  • Philippe Olivier
  • andre rouge

The following German politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the Alternative für Deutschland party (AfD).

  • Christine Anderson
  • Gunnar Beck
  • nicholas feast
  • maximilian arm
  • joachim kuhs
  • guido reel
  • Bernhard Zimniok

Czech MEPs who are members of the populist Freedom and Direct Democracy party, or Freedom and Direct Democracy:

A member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformists group voted against the resolution:

  • Emmanuel Fragkos, whose party in Greece is the Greek Solution, or Elliniki Lucy-Greek Solution

Twelve members of the centre-left progressive coalition of Socialists and Democrats voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

  • Ivo Hristov
  • svetelina penkova
  • Sergey Stanishev
  • peter vitanov
  • Elena Yoncheva

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Party of Germany or the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD), which is the party of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

  • joachim schüster
  • Dietmar Koester

From Italy – these three politicians belong to the Partito Democratico or Democratic Party:

  • peter bartolo
  • Andrew Cozzolino
  • Massimiliano Smeriglio

From Slovakia:

  • Monika Benova (SMER-Socialna Democracy, or Direction – Slovak Social Democracy)
  • Robert Hazel (independent)

Ten members of the Left group in the European Parliament voted against the motion:

from Belgium:

  • Marc Botenga (Parti du Travail de Belgique or Workers’ Party of Belgium – a Marxist party)

From Cyprus:

  • Niazi Kizilyurek (Progressive Party of the Working People – Left – New Forces)

From Czech Republic:

  • Katerina Konecna (Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia, or Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia)

From Germany (De Linke Party, or Left Party):

  • ozlem demirel
  • martin shirdivan

from Portugal (Partido Comunista Portugues, or Portuguese Communist Party – a Marxist–Leninist group)

  • sandra pereira
  • joao pimenta lopes

From Ireland (independent 4th shift):

from Spain:

  • Miguel Urban Crespo (Anticapitalistas)

Nine MEPs who are not affiliated with any political group also voted against the resolution:

  • Nicolas Bay (France – Reconquest!, or Reconquest – a nationalist party)
  • Francesca Donato (Italy – now with an independent but formerly far-right Lega Nord, or Northern League headed by Matteo Salvini)
  • Marcel de Graaf (Netherlands – Forum for Democracy, or Forum for Democracy, a right-wing populist party)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alvanos (Greece – Communist Party of Greece)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Greece – Communist Party of Greece)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovakia – Slovak Patriot, a right-wing party)
  • Milan Uhrich (Slovakia – Movement Republika or Republic – a far-right party)
  • Martin Sonnborn (Germany – Die Partei or The Party, which is a satirical party)
  • Tatjana Zdanoka (Latvia – Latvian Russian Federation or Latvian Russian Federation, supported by ethnic Russians and other Russian-speaking minorities)
Latest news
Related news